Joy Joseph

Joy Joseph is the former Vice President of Quality, Technical Operations, Scientific Affairs and Research & Development for Pharmavite LLC, a Division of Otsuka Pharmaceutical, Osaka, Japan. She has more than 40 years experience in Quality Control Systems, Regulatory Affairs, Product Development and Scientific Affairs both in the Pharmaceutical and Dietary Supplement industries. Her expertise also extends to Professional Education and Manufacturing Management.

Ms. Joseph worked in the Cosmetic and Toiletries Industry for a short period as the Manufacturing Manager for Packaging Corporation of America.

She received her B.S. in Chemistry from Xavier University and her M.B.A. in Technology Management from the University of Phoenix.

Ms. Joseph is serving a second term as Chair of the USP Committee of Revision for Nutritional supplements, non-Botanical. She was recently elected to the Executive Committee of USP for the 2005- 2010 revision cycle. In this new role she will participate in setting standards for both pharmaceuticals and nutritional products. She is also Course Director for the Center Of Professional Advancement, training industry professionals in the cGMP’s for Dietary Supplements both in the US and abroad.

She is a charter member for the American Association of Pharmaceutical Sciences, and the American Society of Quality. She is a member of the Counsel for Responsible Nutrition (CRN) Regulatory Affairs Committee, and serves on several the Scientific Advisory Boards, including the University of California, School of Pharmacy.

Ms. Joseph also serves as scientific advisor to Virgo Publishing Company; Tablet and Capsule trade journal and Nutritional Outlook magazine, and has authored a book chapter, “Regulation and Quality Issues Worldwide ” for Regulation of Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals: A Global Perspective, published early this year.

Working with the CRN and other trade associations, Ms. Joseph played a key role in drafting the original GMP guidelines submitted to FDA for consideration in formulating the final rule. In 2005 she received the CRN’s annual “Steuben Apple Award” for outstanding contributions to the industry.

She is one of the founders and past presidents of the Pacific Technology Exchange.